Skip to main content

Keep tasks in inbox

Or least let it be some sort of toggle option when you create it. Instead of them disappearing from your inbox when you click the add to calendar / plus sign, let them to stay in your inbox. This allows for SO much more flexibility and efficient calendar management. Right now it’s very cumbersome to have to duplicate each task just to keep it in your inbox as well as add it to your calendar.

Status: Duplicate3 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments3

  • Linnea

    Team•

    Feb 5, 2025

    This feature is already available.

    To achieve this, simply create a normal task in the Inbox. Whenever you want to add that task to your timeline:

    1. Tap the respective task, select More and tap Duplicate.

    2. This will automatically open the duplicated task, where you can use the Add Time option in the When? section to schedule your task in your timeline.

    3. As soon as you are done with scheduling, tap on Duplicate Task.

    That way, your duplicated task will be scheduled in your timeline, the template task will remain in the Inbox and you can do this process over and over again.

    • M W

      •

      Feb 5, 2025

      thank you Linnea for your reply. I do realize there’s a duplicate task feature, which is what I use. But that takes 3 clicks to get to. Versus the one click when you hit that plus sign to add the task to the calendar. And when you’re doing that many times over, adding tasks, those clicks add up quickly.

      What I am suggesting is making it possible that when you hit that plus sign, which opens the task, that when you click the add task button, the task gets added, but ALSO stays in your inbox (IF you have toggled on this option when you created the task in your inbox), INSTEAD of having to go through the extra steps of making that task a duplicate. Does this make sense?

      So instead of:

      click task > more > duplicate > add task

      It would be:

      + > add task

      …leaving that task in the inbox instead of disappearing. Just a shortcut, really. To duplicating.

  • M W

    •

    Feb 5, 2025

    Just a couple quick ideas on how to easily integrate…

    • As aforementioned, a toggle option during task creation, or rather, a checkbox inside the task details: “keep in inbox”

    • A pop-up feature when you hit the add to calendar sign from the inbox: “remove from inbox?” Yes/No

    Keeping tasks in your inbox for perpetuity just gives more flexibility, as some days I want to do xy&z, others I want to just xz, and yet others still I only need z. Not all tasks are reoccurring on a schedule, and this allows for that option with simplicity.